And the winner is...

Thursday, January 30, 2014

The American Library Association announced the books that received their highest honors in Philadelphia at their Midwinter Conference on January 27, 2014.

The winner of the John Newbery Medal for outstanding writing in a children's book is Flora & Ulysses, written by Kate DiCamillo and illustrated by K.G. Campbell. You can take a look at our Book Buzz review of Flora and Ulysses here.

The books receiving the Newbery Honor Medal are:
Doll Bones written by Holly Black (Our Book Buzz from back in July can be found here.)
The Year of Billy Miller written by Kevin Henkes
One Came Home written by Amy Timberlake
Paperboy written by Vince Vawter

The winner of the Randolph Caldecott Medal for outstanding illustrations in a children's book is Locomotive, written and illustrated by Brian Floca. Check out our previous discussion of Locomotive here.

The books receiving the Caldecott Honor Medal are:
Journey written and illustrated by Aaron Becker
Flora and the Flamingo illustrated by Molly Idle
Mr. Wuffles! written and illustrated by David Wiesner
(We mentioned a few of these honor books in our discussion of wordless picture books.) 

The winner of the Coretta Scott King Author Award for outstanding writing by an African American author is P.S. Be Eleven written by Rita Williams-Garcia.

The winner of the Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award for illustrations by an African American is Knock Knock: My Dad's Dream for Me illustrated by Bryan Collier.
Be sure to stop by and read one or all of these great books in the next few months. And then let us know, what did YOU think of the winners?

Design by Pocket