Video Book Buzz: Bad News for Outlaws

Friday, January 29, 2010

Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshal by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson,(illustrated by R. Gregory Christie, published by Carolrhoda) was the winner of the 2010 Coretta Scott King Author Award!

Story Time Book List

Thursday, January 28, 2010

Week of 1/25--1/29

Tales for Two's and Threes:
I Wanna Iguana by Karen Kaufman Orloff, illustrated by David Catrow
Millie Waits for the Mail written and illustrated by Alexander Steffensmeier

Fun for Fours and Fives:
Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type by Doreen Cronin, illustrated by Betsy Lewin
The Paper Bag Princess by Robert Munsch, illustrated by Michael Martchenko
We're Going on a Bear Hunt by Michael Rosen, illustrated by Helen Oxenbury
A Visitor for Bear by Bonny Becker, illustrated by Kady MacDonald Denton
Pierre: A Cautionary Tale in Five Chapters and a Prologue written and illustrated by Maurice Sendak

Odd and the Frost Giants Book Trailer

Sunday, January 24, 2010

Here's the Harper Collins book trailer for the newest book from last year's Newbery Award winner, Neil Gaiman. Odd and the Frost Giants is a fun adventure tale and kids interested in mythology will especially like this story!

Video Book Buzz: When You Reach Me

Saturday, January 23, 2010

Check out our 30 second video book trailer for the newest Newbery winner, When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead.

Create your own video slideshow at

Drop-in Mother Goose Time

Friday, January 22, 2010

Can’t make it to our regular Baby Bounce or Strollers programs? Join us for stories, songs, nursery rhymes and more for the under two crowd! Enjoy one-on-one time with your little ones. One child per caregiver please.
WALKERS and PREWALKERS are welcome.


Saturday, February 20
11:30 a.m. – 11:50 a.m.
Story and Craft Room, Upper Level

ALA Youth Media Awards

Monday, January 18, 2010

The Caldecott, Newbery, and other ALA Youth Media Awards are being announced this morning and we're up early bringing you the results!

The Caldecott:
The Lion and the Mouse by Jerry Pinkney (we totally called it!)

Honor Books:
All The World, illustrated by Marla Frazee
Red Sings from Tree Tops, illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski

The Newbery:
When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

Honor Books:
Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice, by Phillip M. Hoose
The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate, by Jacqueline Tate
Where the Mountain Meets the Moon, by Grace Lin
The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg, by Rodman Philbrick

Other award winners include...

Coretta Scott King Author Award: Bad News for Outlaws by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson

Michael L. Printz Book Award: Going Bovine by Libba Bray

Odyssey Audiobook Award: Louise the Advendutres of a Chicken by Kate DiCamillo, Live Oak Media

Robert F. Siebert Award: Almost Astronauts: 13 Women who Dared to Dream, by Tanya Lee Stone

Theodore Seuss Geisel Award: Bennie and Penny and the Big No No, by Geoffrey Hayes

For the complete list of winners go to

And then swing by the library and read a winner!

And Our 2010 Mock Caldecott Winner Is....

Monday, January 11, 2010

The Lion and the Mouse by Jerry Pinkney

Our Mock Caldecott Honor Books are:

The Curious Garden by Peter Brown

The Negro Speaks of Rivers by Langston Hughes, Illustrated by E.B. Lewis

What do you think? Did we choose wisely? We'll have to wait until they announce the Caldecott winners to see if we matched the real committee!

CHPL Mock Caldecott 2010

Friday, January 8, 2010

Upstairs in the children's department we are excitedly waiting for the announcement of this year's Caldecott and Newbery Awards. There's been a lot of discussion about what books we think should win. For the Caldecott, staff favorites include Jerry Pinkey's The Lion and the Mouse, Peter Brown's The Curious Garden, and Moonshot by Brian Floca. Since all this debate is going on, we've decided to hold our own Mock Caldecott awards. We'll post our winners on Monday, January 11th. Then we'll see how our picks compare to the real Caldecott committee once they announce the real winner on January 18th!

Do you have a book that you are rooting for to win the Caldecott or the Newbery? Check out the criteria for these awards here and here and let us know what you think. We'd love to hear from you!

Audio Book Buzz: Charlie Bone and the Hidden King

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

A Book Buzz podcast by guest contributor Bill.

Download this episode (right click and save)

Audio Book Buzz: Train of States

A Book Buzz podcast by guest contributor Thomas.

Download this episode (right click and save)

Changing of the Guard

Jon Scieszka move over, there's a new ambassdor in town. National Ambassador for Young People's Literature that is. Katherine Patterson (author of Newbery winners Bridge to Terabithia and Jacob I Have Loved) has replaced the first ever ambassador Jon Scieszka (author of The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Fairy Tales) as the new National Ambassador. "Read for your life," Paterson told the audience during the ceremony at the Library of Congress. "Read for your life as a member of a family, as a part of a community, as a citizen of this country and a citizen of the world."

The Babysitter's Club Reissued

Tuesday, January 5, 2010

Scholastic plans to reissue a repackaged and slightly revised version of the first two books in The Baby-Sitters Club series. Now a whole new generation can enjoy this series! While you are waiting for the books you might want to take this quiz to find out which member of the baby-sitters club you are most like. I ended up as Mary-Anne. Who are you?

January Book Buzz

Monday, January 4, 2010

Happy New Year! We hope everyone had a safe and happy start to 2010. Here's what we've been busy reading!

Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose
This 2009 National Book Award finalist was an interesting and moving read. In Montgomery, Alabama on March 2, 1955, Claudette Colvin refused to give up her seat on a segregated bus nine months before Rosa Parks. However, local African American leaders decided that 15 year-old Colvin was not the right face for the bus boycott and the importance of her brave action has been largely overshadowed by the Rosa Parks story. This book tells Colvin’s story and places that account within the greater context of the civil rights movement in Montgomery. The book’s presentation includes plentiful photographs and helpful sidebars. The text alternates between a well-written and informative narrative and Colvin’s own words. Meghan (J Biography)

The Thief (The Queen's Thief Book 1) by Megan Whelan Turner
Fans of Gracling and Fire, here is a series that you’ll love. Gen is a master thief and in prison for successfully stealing the King's seal and then boasting about it. Magus, the king’s advisor, believes he knows the site of an ancient treasure. But to attain it for his king, he needs a skillful thief. And so Magus comes to Gen with a deal: Gen will be let out of prison if he helps Magus steal Hamiathes's Gift. Of course Gen takes the deal but there is much more intrigue going on than anyone could guess. I’ve been meaning to read this book for a long time and I’m so glad I finally did because it was amazing. There are two more books in this series and a fourth book is due out in April. Alia (YA Fiction)

Cyberia by Chris Lynch
Zane lives some time in the future where technology rules the world and people rarely go outside. He spends most of his time in his room where his room ‘wakes up’ when he does and sends smells of breakfast through Scent-o-com. His room moderates his temperature and his weight. His one true friend is his dog Hugo. Zane gets a new gadget and all of a sudden he can hear and communicate with Hugo and all other animals. As he realizes this is quite strange, the animals fill him in on the evil Dr. Gristle, the local veterinarian. Together Zane, Hugo and some new animal friends try to save the animals and stop Dr. Gristle. This was a fun science-fiction read and I can’t wait to read the second in the series, Monkey See, Monkey Don’t. Kristin (J fiction)

Nubs: The True Story of a Mutt, a Marine & a Miracle by Major Brian Dennis
Today, Nubs the dog leads a very busy and exciting life! He plays at the beach, goes hiking and even attends a school for training with his owner and best friend Brian. But life wasn’t always so great for Nubs. In the desert of western Iraq, Nubs lived in a war zone. He was small and frail and survived only on the scraps from the soldiers stationed there. Until one day when he met Major Brian Dennis and an unbreakable bond of friendship was formed. This heartwarming story follows Nubs and Brian on their journey of bravery, friendship, and loyalty. This is truly an incredible and unforgettable story. Michelle (J Non-fiction)
Design by Pocket